Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Stetz came to Ohio, U.S.A. from their birth place, Austria. They were married in Ohio in 1886. In 1887, they were among the eight families who were brought west to be engaged in the Lethbridge coal mines. They settled in Lethbridge, which at that time was nothing but desolate prairie. They had one daughter.
Mr. Stetz worked in the Lethbridge coal mines, but was interested in agriculture too. So about the year 1903, he and his son-in-law, Nicholas Grisack, were among the early settlers who were successful in obtaining land south west of the river, now the West Lethbridge area.
They moved to the farm where they made necessary improvements. Having had experience in mining, Mr. Stetz decided to work in the Diamond City mine during the winter. This helped to pay taxes and defray other expenses.
When Coalhurst mine went into full operation, Mr. and Mrs. Stetz moved to Coalhurst, where they rented a company house. Mr. Stetz started to work in the mine as a timber man and later was promoted to timber boss. He took great interest in mining and enjoyed his work until he retired in 1931.
Both Mr. and Mrs. Stetz were respected citizens of the community and founding members of St. Joseph's parish. Mrs. Stetz, who was always sympathetic towards people who were in need of help during illness, was always ready to help them. During the 1918 flu epidemic she volunteered to assist families who were sick with the flu, until she became ill.
All seven grandchildren lived with their grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Stetz while they attended school in Coalhurst.
In 1941 Mr. and Mrs. Stetz took up residence in Lethbridge where they resided until Mrs. Stetz passed away in August, 1947, and Mr. Stetz in October. the same vear.
Return Pioneer Histories