Websites


Magazines (hard copy)

- The Living Tradition (www.folkmusic.net)
- South Riding Folk Network (www.folk-network.com/)
- Music Maker
- Froots (www.frootsmag.com)
- Irish Music (www.irishmusicmagazine.com/)
- Acoustic Guitar (www.acousticguitar.com)
- Dirty Linen (USA)(6 per year)
- Sing Out! (USA)(www.singout.org)
- Shindig (folk-rock and psychedelia)(www.shindig-magazine.com/)
- Penguin Eggs (Canada)(www.penguineggs.ab.ca)
- HMV Choice (free magazine available from HMV stores)

Magazines (on line)

- Martin Nail (www.englishfolkinfo.org.uk/folkmus.html)
- Musical Traditions (www.mustrad.org.uk)
- Musical Traditions album reviews (www.mustrad.org.uk/reviews/r_uk.htm)
- BBC Radio 2 (www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/r2music/folk/reviews/atoz.shtml)
- Trad Music (gigs) (www.tradmusic.com/index.asp)
- CD Roots (www.cdroots.com/britain.shtml)
- FROG Folk Roots Online Guide (www.folkworld.de/frog/irlart.html)
- Folkworld (3 times per year) (Click on "To the English FolkWorld")(www.folkworld.de/)
- www.folkworld.de/frog/
- FolDeRol www.piper-kj.demon.co.uk/diary.htm
- Irish Music Review (www.irishmusicreview.com/)
- Pay The Reckoning (music.paythereckoning.com/)
- Rambles (www.rambles.net/celtic_trad.html)
- Rambling House (homepages.iol.ie/~ronolan/index.html)
- English Music (www.sjfarthing.free-online.co.uk/english/index.html)
- Global (www.globalvillageidiot.net/reviews.htm)
- TSMA (Traditional Music and Song Association of Scotland)
(www.tmsa.org.uk)
- Selected English Folksingers (http://www.goldilox.co.uk/engfolk/shirley_collins.htm)
- Grahams Celtic Folk Links (www.users.zetnet.co.uk/gsivills/gscelt.html)
- Folklib Index (www.folklib.net/)
- ITMA (www.itma.ie/)
- Irelandís Internet Directory (www.niceone.com/)
- Folk and Roots (www.folkandroots.co.uk)
- Folk and Roots gig guide (www.folkandroots.co.uk/gigguide.html)
- Foot Stompin' (www.footstompin.com/home)
- Acoustic music (www.acousticmusic.com/)
- Kevin and Maxine's Celtic and Folk Music Reviews (www.icogitate.com/~celticfolkmusic/)
- Karl Dallas blog (folknews) (folknews.blogspot.com/2003_09_01_archive.html)
- www.netrhythms.co.uk/reviews.html
- Search Europe venues for traditional music
England - 
(www.searcheurope.com/search/Countries/United_Kingdom/England/Arts_and_Entertainment/Music/Styles/Traditional/Clubs_and_Venues/index.shtml)
Scotland - 
(www.searcheurope.com/search/Countries/United_Kingdom/Scotland/Arts_and_Entertainment/Music/Styles/Traditional/Clubs_and_Venues/index.shtml)
- Flaxey Green (South Devon) (www.flaxey-green.co.uk/)

Labels

- Arhoolie (www.arhoolie.com) 
- Compass (compassrecords.com/artists/) 
- Culburnie (www.culburnie.com) 
- Claddagh (www.claddaghrecords.com/www/default.asp) 
- Cooking Vinyl (cookingvinyl.com) 
- Fledg'ling (www.thebeesknees.com) 
- Green Linnet (www.greenlinnet.com) 
- Greentrax (www.greentrax.com) 
- Hannibal/RYKO (www.rykodisc.com) 
- Park (www.parkrecords.com) 
- Rounder (www.rounder.com) 
- Shanachie (www.shanachie.com/) 
- Talking Elephant (www.talkingelephant.co.uk) 
- Tara (www.musicscotland.com) 
- Temple (www.templerecords.co.uk) 
- Topic (www.topicrecords.co.uk) 
- Folk legacy recordings (www.folk-legacy.com/store/Scripts/default.asp)

CD sales

- hmv.com/hmvweb/home.do
- www.musicwords.nl/index.htm
- www.musicscotland.com/index.html
- Musical Traditions Records (mtrecords.co.uk)
- Veteran (www.veteran.co.uk/main.htm)
- Freak Emporium (www.freakemporium.com) (defunct?)
- Amazon (www.amazon.co.uk)
- Fish Records (www.fishrecords.co.uk/index.html)
- CD Universe (*) (www.cduniverse.com)
(* this site allows searching by artist, title or by song)
- System Records(www.systemrecords.co.uk/folkmusiclist-c-16_137.html)
- The Folk Store (www.folkstore.co.uk)
- Discovery Records (www.discovery-records.com/folk.htm)
- ezfolk (CDs and MP3s) (www.ezfolk.com/audio/)

Digital Download sales

- Play.com (www.play.com/Music/MP3-Download/6-/DigitalHome.html)
- emusic (www.emusic.com/label/Topic-IODA-MP3-Download/137257.html)
- 7Digital (www.7digital.com/)
- HMVDigital (www.hmvdigital.com/)

Downloads/ MP3s

- Music.com (www.music.com/)
- Music download (www.last.fm/)
- MP3pulse (mp3pulse.net/genres) (discography and biography)
- MP3 (www.mp3.com/) (discography and biography)
- Billboard (www.billboard.com) (discography and biography)
- Playable free Midi files (www.pteratunes.org.uk/Music/Music/index.html)
- Radio 3 (Canada) (radio3.cbc.ca/)

On-line video

- Music.com (www.music.com/)
- Youtube (www.youtube.com/)
- iLike (www.ilike.com/artist/)
- VideoCelt.com (www.videocelt.com/index.html)
(search video for "Liam O'Flynn", "Joe Gordon folk Four", "Mactalla" etc)
- Myspace (http://www.myspace.com/)
(search video for "Spanfest", "Bellowhead", "traditional", "folk" etc)

Web radio

- Uilleann Obsession (www.uilleannobsession.com/links_radio.html)
- Worlds of Trad (www.live365.com/stations/oneworldmusic)
- Folk Radio UK (www.folkradio.co.uk/)
- The Music Well (www.themusicwellhome.co.uk/)
- Thisteleradio (thistleradio.com/)
- Celtic Storm (www.celticcenter.org/celticstorm.php)
- Celtic Folk Podcast (www.celticfolkpod.com/)
- Real.com (Genre Radio, single-artists radio) (Listen to BBC radio stations free, using Realplayer) (more...)
+ Real.com (Also Classic FM, Virgin, etc) (uk.real.com/music/)
- Marc Gunn's podcasts (www.marcgunn.com/2007/08/marc-gunns-podcasts.shtml)
- Various stations http://www.live365.com/cgi-bin/directory.cgi?genre=folk

Dance Websites

- English Folk Dance & Song Society (www.efdss.org)
- English Country Dance (www.cdss.org/home.html)
- Cecil Sharp "The Country Dance Book" (www.srcf.ucam.org/round/dances/cdb)
- The Morris Ring (www.themorrisring.org/)
- Open Morris (www.open-morris.org/)
- Morris Federation (www.morrisfed.org.uk/home.html)
- Webfeet (www.webfeet.org)
- Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann (comhaltas.ie/)
- Shave The Donkey (www.capers.co.uk/donkey/)
- Royal Scottish Country Dance Society (www.rscds.org/)
- Renaissance Dance Database, including Playford (www.rendancedb.org/index.php)
- Dolmetsch Historical Dance Society
(http://www.dhds.org.uk/)
- The NUT on the Net (http://www.the-nut.net/)
- eCeilidh - directory of folk band artists
(www.candleford.com/eceilidh)
- Scottish Dance Bands - directory of bookable dance bands
(www.scottishdance.net/bands/A.html)
- Mummers' Plays/ Folk Plays
(www.folkplay.info/index.htm)
- Licensing Act 2003
(www.folkplay.info/Forum/TD_Forum_8_Licensing.htm)
- Dance History Archives
(www.streetswing.com/histmain/z1a.htm)
- 19th Century Social Dance. Jonathan Still's "Dance Rhythms"
(www.jsmusic.org.uk/articles/dance_rhythms.html)


Database Websites

- Jane Keefer (www.ibiblio.org/keefer/pf_frset.htm)
- Traditional Ballads (www.csufresno.edu/folklore/BalladSearch.html)
- The Ballad Index (Discography page) http://www.csufresno.edu/folklore/BalladIndexDisc.html
- Folklorist (Combines the Ballad Index and the Digital Tradition websites) http://trad.appspot.com/
- Steve Roud
- James Madison Carpenter (www.hrionline.ac.uk/carpenter/search.html)
- Digital Tradition (sniff.numachi.com/~rickheit/dtrad/aidx/aidxA.html)
- Argo (www.nigelgatherer.com/perf/group.html)
- Slipcue (www.slipcue.com/music/international/celtic/celticmain.html)
- Trad Music (www.tradmusic.com/index.asp)
- FolDeRol (www.piper-kj.demon.co.uk/diary.htm)
- Ceolas (www.ceolas.org/artists/)
- Ballads in Bodelian Library (www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/ballads/)
- The Child Ballads (members.chello.nl/r.vandijk2/)
- The Child Ballads (www.pbm.com/~lindahl/ballads/early_child/)
- The Child Ballads (www.springthyme.co.uk/ballads/index.html)
- Irish music. Geoff Wallis's website (www.irishmusicreview.com/)
	Select ""Irish Music Discography by Label"
- Celtic musicians (www.celtic-musicians.net/index.html)
- J Prescot (www.telusplanet.net/public/prescotj/index.html)
- Music City Collaborative database (www.music-city.org/)
- North East Folk Archives (www.nefa.net)
- Gibraltar prog-rock/folk-rock (www.gepr.net/bandlist.html)
- English Folk Music (www.informatik.uni-hamburg.de/~zierke/folk/records/)
- Folksy links (www.folksylinks.it/index.html)
- English Country Dancing Master (www.izaak.unh.edu/nhltmd/indexes/dancingmaster/)
- Colonial Dancing (www.colonialdancing.org/Easmes/Index.htm)
- Colonial Dancing History (www.colonialdance.org/history.html)
- Ecto Guide (www.ectoguide.org/genre)
	(select the "Folk/Rock option")
- The Session (www.thesession.org/index.php)
- World/Roots music (www.rootsworld.com/rw/)
- IMDb - database of film-related people, including folk musicians (www.imdb.com)
- Irish tunes (www.irishtune.info/)
- Contemplator (www.contemplator.com/)
- VH1 - database of pop,rock and folk artists, together with biographies
and tour dates (www.vh1.com/artists/az/)
- Iceberg Radio - Database of recording artists biographies, together with
star ratings (www.icebergradio.com)
- Various music links (users.ox.ac.uk/~worc0337/recreation/music.html)
- English Ceilidh Webring (www.webring.org/hub?ring=eceilidh)
- The Cloosterman Celtic Links page (www.lnqs.com/chqlinks/)
- English Dance Tunes (www.webfeet.org/eceilidh/tracks/)
- eCeilidh - directory of folk band artists
(www.candleford.com/eceilidh)
- Music.com (www.music.com/)
- British Library Sound Archives (www.bl.uk/reshelp/findhelprestype/sound/wtmusic/worldmusic.html)
- The Fiddler's Companion (www.ibiblio.org/fiddlers/FCfiles.html)
- Rate Your Music (www.rateyourmusic.com/)
- Last.fm (www.last.fm/)
- emusic (www.emusic.com/about/index.html)
- The Folk Roots List www.folkrootslist.co.uk/
- Discogs (www.discogs.com)
- Bright Young Folk (gigs and discography) (www.brightyoungfolk.com/gigs/homepage/default.aspx)
- MuziekWeb (discography [in Dutch]) (www.muziekweb.nl/shared/cat/pop)
- Blogspot (roots music) Wrath of the Grapevine (www.blogger.com/profile/11424429160753219350)
- Psychedelic folk (www.psychedelicfolk.com/Psychedelicfolk.html)
- Traditional tunes and songs (www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/)
- English Country dances 1650 - 1833 (www.danceandmusicindexes.org/DFIE/Index.htm)
- The Doc Rowe Collection (www.docrowe.org.uk/index.html) is in Sheffield
- Music Map (www.music-map.com/) [Try "Pentangle" or "Fairport Convention"]

Databases - list of websites

- Scottish dance (www.scottishdance.net/links/Music.html)

Database - Words of songs

- ingeb (ingeb.org/folksong.html)
- Henry and Susanne's Folksong-index (mysongbook.de/msb/songs/a/a_titel.html)
- American songs 1866 to 1899 (www.pdmusic.org/1800s2.html#66)
- "Beuk of Newcassel Sangs" mysite.verizon.net/cbladey/sang/alsang.html
- "Folksongs of the Upper Thames" http://www.wiltshire.gov.uk/community/folk_search.php
- Traditional Music Library (www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/traditional-music/)

Database - Songs listed in alphabetical order

- Lyrics (www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/folk-song-lyrics/fsl-J.html)
- Songlink (www.dickalba.demon.co.uk/links/folk/songlink/songs_j.htm)
- Folkinfo (www.folkinfo.org/songs/browsetitles.php?letter=J)
- American songs 1800 - 1914 (www.ebrary.com/stanford/browse2/americanabrowse.html)
- Christmas Carols (www.allmusic.com/artist/q68698)
- Digital tradition with tunes (www.8notes.com/digital_tradition/)

Database - Scots songs and tunes printed in the 18th century

- Fresno (www.csufresno.edu/folklore/Olson/SCOTTUNS.HTM

Database - Words of hymns (some of the tunes are traditional)

- Oremus (www.oremus.org)

Database - Words of carols

- Carols (www.hymnsandcarolsofchristmas.com/index.htm)

Database - Dates of death of musicians

- Necrology (library.wustl.edu/units/music/necro/)
- Find a grave (www.findagrave.com/)

Database - Pictures of musicians

- Music pictures (www.musicpictures.com/propxt/main/letter~A)
- Flickr (www.flickr.com)

Books about folksongs

- Songbooks (booksandwriters.co.uk/writer/F/folksongs-english.asp)

List of "Greatest Folk Music Artists"

- DigitalDreamDoor (digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_artists-folk.html)
- Rhapsody (www.rhapsody.com/charts?cat=main&category=genre&genreId=116)
- Charles H Smith's top 111 (people.wku.edu/charles.smith/essays/FOLK111.htm)
- Toptenreviews (by critics)(Traditional folk) (music.toptenreviews.com/genres/list_genre146.htm)
- Toptenreviews (by critics)(British and Celtic) (music.toptenreviews.com/genres/list_genre145.htm)
- Kim Reuhl's 50 Best folk artists (folkmusic.about.com/od/artistsaz/tp/BestFolkArtists.htm)

Links to pop chart placings websites

- www.chartwatch.co.uk/
- www.everyhit.com/index.html
- www.chartstats.com/index.php

Wikis

- Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page)
- Freebase (mostly copied from Wikipedia) (http://www.freebase.com/)
- MusicBrainz (mostly copied from Wikipedia) (http://musicbrainz.org/)
- Folkopedia (folkopedia.efdss.org/Main_Page)
- Folkipedia (www.folkipedia.org/docuwiki/doku.php)
- Uilleann wiki (www.nwup.org/uiwiki/index.php/Main_Page)
- Morris dancing Wiki (morrisdancing.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page)

Historical overview

- Music in Europe (worldmusic.nationalgeographic.com/view/page.basic/country/content.country/ireland_29)
- Encyclopedia of Traditional Celtic Music (www.standingstones.com/musencyc.html)
- AL Lloyd's Marxist approach (cjtm.icaap.org/content/25/v25art2.html)
- Irish music before 1700 (www.standingstones.com/cmaoitm.html)
- English Country Music (www.concertina.net/rd_ecm.html)
- Rod Stradling on English melodeon styles (www.rootsworld.com/interview/stradling.html)
- The Concertina in Ireland 1834 - 1930 (www.concertina.com/worrall/beginnings-concertina-in-ireland/)
- Irish Traditional (worldmusic.nationalgeographic.com/view/page.basic/genre/content.genre/irish_traditional_733)
- Dutch folk music (www.folkworld.de/34/e/dutch.html)
- Colonial Tavern Music (www.history.org/foundation/journal/Winter03-04/tavern.cfm)
- The Pure Drop (music genres) (thepuredrop.com.au/info/rock.htm)
- The Pure Drop (English music) (thepuredrop.com.au/ep_hotline/more.htm)
- Roots world "Traditional music of Ireland" (www.rootsworld.com/celtic/)
- (see also "A Selective Overview" on the left-hand panel)
- Early Gaelic Harp (www.earlygaelicharp.info/history/)
- Am Baile - Music of the Highlands (www.ambaile.org.uk/en/sub_section.jsp?SectionID=3¤tId=262)
- J. Murdoch Henderson: biographies of Scottish Fiddlers (www.ambaile.org.uk/en/sub_section.jsp?SectionID=3¤tId=262)
- Scottish Collectors (sites.scran.ac.uk/jmhenderson/web/collection/jmhcoll/collectors.htm)
- British folk music in the USA (www.america.gov/st/arts-english/2008/July/20080812184027eaifas0.3918268.html)
- Irish folk Music (www.popmatters.com/music/features/020315-stpatrick-stone.html)
- Anglo-Irish msuic from 1701 to 1741 (www.libraryireland.com/IrishMusic/XXIV.php)
- Rise & Fall of the Concertina (www.concertina.com/eydmann/folk-music-revival/)
- "May Day Customs" by John Brand (www.nevadaobserver.com/Reading%20Room%20Documents/May-Day%20Customs%20(1813).htm)
- Square and Contra dances (www.heinerfischle.de/history/index-e.htm)
- History of Edinburgh in music (www.campin.me.uk/Embro/Webrelease/Embro/Embro.htm)
- A.L. Lloyd's career (cjtm.icaap.org/content/25/v25art2.html)
- The Celts and Music (sites.scran.ac.uk/jmhenderson/web/collection/fiddles/index.htm)

Festivals

- List of Festivals (www.tradmusicfestivals.co.uk)
- efestivals (www.efestivals.co.uk/festivals/)
- Return To Camden (www.returntocamden.org)
- Sidmouth (www.sidmouthfolkweek.co.uk)
- Green Man (www.greenman.net)
- Cambridge (www.cambridgefolkfestival.co.uk)
- Ceilidh Culture (Edinburgh) (www.ceilidhculture.co.uk)
- Beverley & East Riding (www.beverleyfestival.com/)
- Cleethorpes (www.cleethorpesfolkfestival.org.uk)
- Trowbridge Village Pump, Wilts (www.trowbridgefestival.co.uk)
- Scoil, Achill (www.scoilacla.com/)
- York Early Music Festival (www.ncem.co.uk)

Fans/artists websites

- Altan (www.altan.ie)
- Battlefield Band (www.battlefieldband.co.uk)
- Capercaillie (www.capercaillie.co.uk)
- Eliza Carthy (www.robin-hoods-bay.co.uk/html/local_musicians/carthy_e.htm)
- The Chieftains members.shaw.ca/chieftains/)
- The Cluntha (www.nigelgatherer.com/perf/group1/cluth.html)
- Fairport Convention (www.fairportconvention.co.uk)
- Vin Garbutt (www.vingarbutt.com/)
- Dick Gaughan (www.dickalba.demon.co.uk/)
- John Goodluck (www.goldilox.co.uk/engfolk/john_goodluck.htm)
- Martin Hayes (www.globalvillageidiot.net/martinhayes.htm)
- Nic Jones (www.nicjones.net/biog.htm)
- Louis Killen (www.louiskillen.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/main.index.html)
- John Kirkpatrick (www.thebeesknees.com)
- Little Johnny England (www.littlejohnnyengland.co.uk)
- Susan McKeown (susanmckeown.com)
- Malinky (www.malinky.com/)
- New Scorpion Band (www.new-scorpion-band.com)
- Old Swan Band (www.sjfarthing.free-online.co.uk/english/osb/)
- Posh Band (www.poshband.clara.net)
- Maddy Prior (www.gaudela.net)
- Susana Seivane (www.susanaseivane.com)
- Dave Swarbrick (www.folkicons.co.uk/swarb.htm)
- Richard Thompson (www.thebeesknees.com)
- Kathryn Tickell (www.kathryntickell.com)
- Waterson-Carthy (www.watersoncarthy.com)

Instrument websites/specialist

- Fiddles (www.fiddlingaround.co.uk/index.html)
- Harp (www.harp.net)
- Concertina (www.concertina.net/)
- Free Reed (www.rootsworld.com)
- Tam Lin (www.tam-lin.org/index.html)
- Uilleann Obsession link to players(www.uilleannobsession.com/links_pipers.html)
- Bagpipe illustrations and confused illustrations (www.hotpipes.com/graphics.html)
- Bagpipes illustrated on postage stamps(www.hotpipes.com/sts0001.html)
- Bouzouki(www.acousticguitar.com/issues/ag89/bouzouki.html)
- Flatback(groups.google.co.uk/group/rec.music.makers.guitar.acoustic/msg/7f23a35b3862c102?hl=en&)

Venues

- The Sage, Gateshead (www.thesagegateshead.org)
- The Green Note (www.greennote.co.uk/)
- Cecil Sharp House, London
- Royal Festival Hall, London
- Barbican, London
- Fairfield Hall, Croydon
- Hammersmith Irish Centre
- Watermans, Brentford
- The Mean Fiddler, Harlseden

Last updated on 04/02/2011